Documentary

Featured Programs

©NHK
Timeless Messages from NHK Archives: Joint Management Stores by Local Residents of Okinawa
8/ 19 (Fri) 12:00AM(ET) /9:00PM(PT)
The program focuses on joint management stores of Okinawa that appears in the drama serial "Chimu-Dondon" and welcomes Nakama Yukie and Jon Kabira as guests. Joint management stores are established and operated through joint investment by local residents, which are located throughout Okinawa prefecture and continue to exist as the core of the local community.

©NHK
summer special
8/ 20 (Sat) 6:45PM(ET) /3:45PM(PT)
The series explores the amazing stories of animals in Africa, the Americas and Asia, including Japan.

©NHK
8/ 20 (Sat) 10:00PM(ET) /7:00PM(PT)

©NHK
Listening to the Voice of the Voiceless with Yoshinaga Sayuri
8/ 21 (Sun) 8:30AM(ET) /5:30AM(PT)

©NHK
OKINAWA: Eclectic and Original Japanese Edition
8/ 21 (Sun) 9:05AM(ET) /6:05AM(PT)
Okinawa Prefecture is a group of subtropical islands in the south of Japan. It previously thrived as a separate country called the Ryukyu Kingdom, which maintained its independence for 450 years. It did this by accepting and incorporating foreign influences. That approach proved useful once again in the 20th century, during the postwar US occupation. In this program, broadcaster Peter Barakan meets people who worked hard to heal the wounds of war, and reconstruct Okinawa's cultural heritage.

©NHK
Sakurajima
8/ 21 (Sun) 7:10PM(ET) /4:10PM(PT)

©NHK
"Centry of Turmoil" Part 1: Energy Shock from Russia's Invasion of Ukraine
8/ 21 (Sun) 10:00PM(ET) /7:00PM(PT)
Russia's invasion of Ukraine on February 24, 2022, has shaken the international order and affected people around the world in many ways. What kind of times are we living in and where are we headed? The series follows the global impact of Putin's War from various angles. The first episode reports on the front lines of energy resources. As the price of crude oil and natual gas soar, companies are trying to obtain a resource other than from Russia. The drive for decarbonized energy is also accelerating.

©テレビ東京
8/ 26 (Fri) 11:15PM(ET) /8:15PM(PT)
This program reveals current social and business topics in Japan.

©NHK
8/ 27 (Sat) 10:00PM(ET) /7:00PM(PT)

©NHK
8/ 28 (Sun) 10:00PM(ET) /7:00PM(PT)
"Fake news" may have far-reaching effects on anyone. A comedian and youtuber, Atsuhiko Nakata and specialists discuss how we can defend ourselves against fake information.

8/ 31 (Wed) 12:05AM(ET) /9:05PM(PT)

Regulary Aired Programs

Asia Insight
©NHK
Wed
 
6:30~7:00AM(ET) /3:30~4:00AM(PT)
Journeys in Japan
©NHK
Thu
 
6:30~7:00AM(ET) /3:30~4:00AM(PT)
NHK Special
©NHK
SunSat
 
10:00~11:00PM(ET) /7:00~8:00PM(PT)
SunMon
RE
RE 5:10~6:00AM(ET) /2:10~3:00AM(PT)
Haiku Poetry
©NHK
Tue
 
6:30~7:00AM(ET) /3:30~4:00AM(PT)
Tanka Poetry
©NHK
Mon
 
6:30~7:00AM(ET) /3:30~4:00AM(PT)
no art,no life
Thu
 
1:50~2:00AM(ET) /10:50~11:00PM(PT)
Where We Call Home
Sun
 
12:05~12:35AM(ET) /9:05~9:35PM(PT)
Sat
RE
RE 5:05~5:35AM(ET) /2:05~2:35AM(PT)
Natural Grandeur of the East
©NHK
Sun
 
8:15~8:30AM(ET) /5:15~5:30AM(PT)
Journey of the Heart Across Japan
©NHK
Sun
 
11:00~12:05AM(ET) /8:00~9:05AM(PT)
Mon
RE
RE 4:00~5:00AM(ET) /1:00~2:00AM(PT)
The Cats Eye Museum
Mon
 
10:15~10:30AM(ET) /7:15~7:30AM(PT)
Sun
RE
RE 1:00~1:15AM(ET) /10:00~10:15PM(PT)
Haru's Weekend at Japanese Old House Cafe
©NHK
Sun
 
12:35~1:00AM(ET) /9:35~10:00PM(PT)
Sat
RE
RE 5:35~6:00AM(ET) /2:35~3:00AM(PT)
RYU'S TALKING LIVE
©テレビ東京
Fri
 
11:15~12:00PM(ET) /8:15~9:00PM(PT)
Sat
RE
RE 8:20~9:00AM(ET) /5:20~6:00AM(PT)
Karl and Tina: Embracing Village Life in Japan
©NHK
Fri
 
12:00~12:30PM(ET) /9:00~9:30AM(PT)
DAWN OF GAIA
©TV TOKYO
Fri
 
11:15~12:00PM(ET) /8:15~9:00PM(PT)
Sat
RE
RE 8:20~9:00AM(ET) /5:20~6:00AM(PT)
Today's Close-up
MonTueWed
 
9:00~9:30AM(ET) /6:00~6:30AM(PT)
SCIENCE ZERO
©NHK
Tue
 
4:00~4:30PM(ET) /1:00~1:30PM(PT)
Follow in the Footsteps of Tasha Tudor
Fri
 
12:00~12:30PM(ET) /9:00~9:30AM(PT)
Darwin's Amazing Animals
©NHK
Sat
 
6:45~7:15PM(ET) /3:45~4:15PM(PT)
Documentary: 20 Minutes
Sat
 
9:35~10:00AM(ET) /6:35~7:00AM(PT)
Thu
RE
RE 4:40~5:00AM(ET) /1:40~2:00AM(PT)
Three Days, Three Nights
©NHK
Fri
 
12:00~12:30AM(ET) /9:00~9:30PM(PT)
Leisurely Railway Journey Across Japan
©NHK
Wed
 
4:00~4:30PM(ET) /1:00~1:30PM(PT)
Family History
Mon
 
8:00~8:50PM(ET) /5:00~5:50PM(PT)
Sat
RE
RE 2:15~3:00AM(ET) /11:15~12:00AM(PT)
Strolling with Tamori
©NHK
Sun
 
7:10~8:00PM(ET) /4:10~5:00PM(PT)
Mon
RE
RE 1:00~1:45AM(ET) /10:00~10:45PM(PT)
City-Scope
Tue
 
10:15~10:30AM(ET) /7:15~7:30AM(PT)
Somewhere Street
©NHK
Sat
 
2:00~3:00PM(ET) /11:00~12:00PM(PT)
The Fountain of Ancient Wisdom
©NHK
Wed
 
12:05~12:55AM(ET) /9:05~9:55PM(PT)
Gentle Journeys
©NHK
Sun
 
7:30~8:00AM(ET) /4:30~5:00AM(PT)
Ideas to Protect Ourselves from Disasters
©NHK
Sun
 
10:10~11:00AM(ET) /7:10~8:00AM(PT)
History Detective
©NHK
Thu
 
12:05~12:55AM(ET) /9:05~9:55PM(PT)
Fri
RE
RE 5:05~6:00AM(ET) /2:05~3:00AM(PT)
Hiei No Hikari / Light of Life
Sun
 
2:50~3:05PM(ET) /11:50~12:05PM(PT)
At Home with Venetia in Kyoto
©NHK
Fri
 
12:00~12:30PM(ET) /9:00~9:30AM(PT)
The Last Families in Isolated Islands
Tue
 
8:55~9:45PM(ET) /5:55~6:45PM(PT)
Wed
RE
RE 4:00~4:45AM(ET) /1:00~1:45AM(PT)
Tokyo Local Information NETADORI!
©NHK
Fri
 
9:00~9:30AM(ET) /6:00~6:30AM(PT)
Core Kyoto
©NHK
Fri
 
6:30~7:00AM(ET) /3:30~4:00AM(PT)
Dear Japan
©NHK
Sat
 
12:35~1:00PM(ET) /9:35~10:00AM(PT)
Sun
RE
RE 4:35~5:00AM(ET) /1:35~2:00AM(PT)

PAGE TOP