Featured Programs

Movie

©2017映画「3月のライオン」製作委員会
Rei Kiriyama (Ryunosuke Kamiki) is a 17-years-old shogi (Japanese chess) player. He debuted as a professional shogi player when he was in middle school. He lives by himself in Tokyo, because his parents and younger sister died in an traffic accident when he was little. One day, Rei Kiriyama meets three sisters who are his neighbors. The three sisters are Akari Kawamoto, Hinata Kawamoto and Momo Kawamoto. This is his first meeting with someone outside of the shogi world in many years. Having meals with the Kawamoto family brings warm feelings to Rei Kiriyama. As Rei Kiriyama continues his shogi career, his interactions with his neighbors allows him to grow as a shogi player and as a person.

©2016 Fuji Television Network, Kodansha, Toho ©Naoshi Arakawa/Kodansha
A mysterious international crime organization makes a demand of 900 million yen from the Japanese government for the release of hostages. The group then targets a victory parade of a world sports game to commit indiscriminate terror.

Drama

©NHK
(145)
3/ 22 (Fri) 9:45PM(ET) /6:45PM(PT)
This drama is about Fukuko, a cheerful and dedicated woman born in Osaka, who marries to a young businessman filled with vitality. From the prewar to the high economic growth period, they get through the turbulent times and revolutionize the world's food culture by inventing instant noodles.

©NHK
Part 1
3/ 23 (Sat) 3:00PM(ET) /12:00PM(PT)
The 96th Drama Serial is about Mineko, a girl born in Ibaraki Prefecture, who comes up to Tokyo for the mass employment during the high economic growth period. The story begins in 1964, the year of the Tokyo Olympics, and portrays her eventful life and growth as a person. Part 2 will be aired next week at same time.

©テレビ朝日・東映
The drama features Ukyo Sugishita(Yutaka Mizutani), a police inspector assigned to the fictional Special Missions Unit of the Tokyo Metropolitan Police Department and his partners as Wataru Kaburagi (Takashi Sorimachi) from 2015 on. This season, Toshio Aoki (Yosuke Asari) joined their team for investigation.

©NHK
(12)
3/ 24 (Sun) 8:00PM(ET) /5:00PM(PT)
NHK's historical drama for 2019 follows the life story of Shiso Kanakuri and Masaji Tabata in a relay format, tracing the turbulent history from the Stockholm Olympic games in 1912 to the Tokyo games in 1964. Kanakuri was the only Japanese marathon runner who competed in the 1912 games, the first Olympics where Japan took part. Tabata played a significant role in hosting the 1964 Tokyo Olympics.

©NHK
(1)
3/25 Mon.-3/28 Thu. 8:00PM(ET) /5:00PM(PT)
A special sequel of Drama Serial "Hiyokko," about Mineko, a girl born in Ibaraki Prefecture, who comes up to Tokyo for the mass employment during the high economic growth period. Now in this 4-episode sequel, the story revolves around the marriage life of Mineko and Hidetoshi.

©NHK
A comedy drama about a battle between zombies and Millennial women. Since zombies’ outbreak, an ordinary town begins to collapse. Mizuho (Natsumi Ishibashi) fights against zombies and struggles to survive with her friends. In the dreadful confusion, she finds a meaning in her life.

©TM & c 2019 CBS Studios Inc. All Rights Reserved
(9)
3/ 27 (Wed) 10:00PM(ET) /7:00PM(PT)
Kyoko Hasumi (Takako Tokiwa) is a former lawyer who quit her job to become a housewife and a mother. Her husband is an elite prosecutor. He works as the leader of a special investigation department at the Tokyo District Prosecutor's Office, but he is charged with corruption and gets arrested. A scandal with another woman is also revealed. Kyoko Hasumi's life as a "good wife" begins to change. To protect her children, she decides to work again as a lawyer. She is hired temporarily at a law office and begins to work as a lawyer for the first time in 16 years.

©NHK
3/ 28 (Thu) 11:15PM(ET) /8:15PM(PT)

©NHK
3/ 29 (Fri) 11:15PM(ET) /8:15PM(PT)
A love story between a young man working at a bento shop and a young woman, an enthusiast of kokeshi dolls. Exhausted physically and mentally, the man thinks about quitting his job. One day, he falls for a woman who comes to the shop for a part-time job interview. She says with a soft smile, "Let me have four days off per week."

©NHK
3/ 30 (Sat) 11:15PM(ET) /8:15PM(PT)

©NHK
(1)
3/31 Sun. 8:45PM(ET) /5:45PM(PT)Start
The 100th Drama Serial revolves around the heroine, Natsu, who grows up in the great outdoors of Hokkaido, northern Japan and later pursues a career in animated films during its formative years.

Variety

©NHK
Queen
3/ 22 (Fri) 10:00PM(ET) /7:00PM(PT)
Comedy skits depicting joys and sorrows of life will be presented in omnibus formats.

©NHK
3/ 25 (Mon) 9:00PM(ET) /6:00PM(PT)
A special episode of "New Wisdom of Ageless Beauty," which unravels beauty and health methods rumored everywhere in light of the latest "new wisdoms." Having experts from every field, the program explains the mechanism of our body for all health-conscious people.

©NHK
Greece
3/ 25 (Mon) 10:00PM(ET) /7:00PM(PT)

©NHK
3/ 25 (Mon) 11:15PM(ET) /8:15PM(PT)

©NHK
Washing
3/ 27 (Wed) 8:55PM(ET) /5:55PM(PT)
Useful information on health and everyday life is conveyed through various scientific demonstrations in an easy-to-understand way.

©NHK
3/ 28 (Thu) 8:30PM(ET) /5:30PM(PT)

3/ 29 (Fri) 8:00PM(ET) /5:00PM(PT)

©NHK
3/ 30 (Sat) 2:10AM(ET) /11:10PM(PT)
A variety program where viewers who passed online preliminaries send in comic riddles via mobile text to compete with other participants.

3/ 30 (Sat) 7:45PM(ET) /4:45PM(PT)

©NHK
Masao Kusakari
4/ 1 (Mon) 8:00PM(ET) /5:00PM(PT)
Veteran rakugo storyteller Shofukutei Tsurube travels across Japan with a personality, introducing families they meet along the way.

©NHK
Pollenosis
4/ 3 (Wed) 8:55PM(ET) /5:55PM(PT)
Useful information on health and everyday life is conveyed through various scientific demonstrations in an easy-to-understand way.

©NHK
Spring Special, Paris & London
4/ 4 (Thu) 11:15PM(ET) /8:15PM(PT)
Let's embark on a journey of discovery with top buyers! From fashion to gourmet and interior, finest items selected by professional connoisseurs will be introduced along with behind-the-scenes stories.

Anime

© 2018 Megumi Hatakenaka,KADOKAWA/Tsukumogami PARTNERS All Rights Reserved.
1
4/2 Tue. 6:30PM(ET) /3:30PM(PT)
A pair of adopted siblings run a rental shop in old Edo (Present-day Tokyo) where fires are prevalent and everyday items are rented out to not impede when they flee. Mixed in the inventory are old objects that have turned into spirits after hundreds of years of existence called“Tsukumogami”. These supernatural creatures listen to conversations around town and spread it as gossip. It is up to the good-hearted siblings to react to these quarrels and resolve the situation using the powers of the Tsukumogami.

News

4/1 Mon. 10:20AM(ET) /7:20PM(PT)Start
This 15-minute news bulletin provides eye-catching news of the day. The compact but helpful program is a great way to wrap up the day after a long day of work and housework.

Doumentary

3/ 24 (Sun) 7:10PM(ET) /4:10PM(PT)

©NHK
Hidden Fatty Liver
3/ 24 (Sun) 10:00PM(ET) /7:00PM(PT)
Fatty liver had been assumed to be just a heavy drinkers' problem. However, recent studies have shown that the number of non-alcoholic fatty liver patients is increasing. It is believed to have relationships with other diseases such as cancer and stroke.

©NHK
Part 3
3/ 24 (Sun) 11:15PM(ET) /8:15PM(PT)
Emperor Akihito's abdication is set on April 30, 2019. In this series, we will look back on the trajectory of the Japanese Emperor and Empress through archival footage, documents and evidences of people familiar with the Imperial family.

©NHK
Special
3/ 27 (Wed) 12:15AM(ET) /9:15PM(PT)
Comedian and novelist Naoki Matayoshi explores the unknown world of natural and social sciences by solving simple questions lurking in our daily lives.

©NHK
Santa Barbara
3/ 30 (Sat) 4:00PM(ET) /1:00PM(PT)
A close-up look at cities worldwide, as seen by a walking tourist. Viewers visit places off the beaten path, meet ordinary people, and enjoy a travel experience that's only possible on foot.

©NHK
Special Drama:Young Swindlers
3/ 30 (Sat) 9:25PM(ET) /6:25PM(PT)
A drama depicting young Japanese becoming phone swindlers amid widening income gaps in society. In 2018, the top reason for juvenile delinquents to be confined to Tama Juvenile Training School was bank transfer scam. Based on real cases, the drama portrays the reality of youngsters brainwashed into committing illegal acts.

©NHK
"Heisei Scoop Documentary" Part 6: Tokyo Redevelopment
3/ 31 (Sun) 10:00PM(ET) /7:00PM(PT)
A documentary based on timely subjects famous for its dignity and in-depth reporting.

©NHK
Part 4
3/ 31 (Sun) 11:15PM(ET) /8:15PM(PT)
Emperor Akihito's abdication is set on April 30, 2019. In this series, we will look back on the trajectory of the Japanese Emperor and Empress through archival footage, documents and evidences of people familiar with the Imperial family.

©NHK
Part 1
4/1 Mon-4/3 Wed. 1:00AM(ET) /10:00PM(PT)Start

©NHK
4/1 Mon. 11:15PM(ET) /8:15PM(PT)
We introduce the stories of turnarounds who have succeeded in rebuilding their lives after hitting rock bottom… including a man who was arrested jailed for alleged robbery… a hiker who fell off a cliff and was forced to survive without any food. These people never lost hope, despite being in dire straits.

Music

Life Style

©NHK
Premium Talk Guest: Sakura Ando
3/ 22 (Fri) 1:00PM(ET) /10:00AM(PT)

Sports

PAGE TOP