Featured Programs

Movie

© 2019 “Don’t Cry, Mr. Ogre” Film Partners
Takashi Obuchi (Shinichi Tsutsumi) was once a high school baseball coach. He was called "Red Demon Teacher" because of his tan red face and energetic instructions. He is now a tired, middle-aged man.One day, Takashi meets his Tomoyuki Saito (Yuya Yagira). Tomoyuki played on Takashi's high school baseball team. He was talented, but dropped out of school. Tomoyuki is now married to Yukino (Rina Kawaei). Takashi learns that his former student only has only 6 months left to live due to having terminal cancer. Takashi plans something for Tomoyuki.

©2018 TOHO CO., LTD. / KADOKAWA CORPORATION / J Storm Inc. /DENTSU INC. / East Japan Marketing & Communications, Inc. / KDDI CORPORATION / OLM, Inc. / TOHAN CORPORATION / GYAO Corporation
10/ 11 (Sun) 3:00PM(ET) /12:00PM(PT)
2 people are poisoned to death by hydrogen sulfide at hot springs located in different regions. The police ask Professor Shusuke Aoe (Sho Sakurai), who is a geochemist, to determine whether the deaths were caused by freak accidents or were murders. While investigating the cases, Aoe comes across Madoka Uhara (Suzu Hirose). She guesses correctly that a natural phenomenon will take place. The police begin to suspect Madoka might be related to the deaths and a 3rd case takes place.

©2019 “Iwane: Sword of Serenity” Film Partners
Iwane Sakazaki (Tori Matsuzaka) has two childhood friends: Kinpei Kobayashi (Tasuku Emoto) and Shinnosuke Kawade (Yosuke Sugino). They received training at the same dojo. Kinpei's younger sister Mai is married to Shinnosuke. Also Iwane will marry Nao (Kyoko Yoshine) who is the younger sister of Kinpei and Mai. The three friends are like brothers. Shinnosuke then hears a rumor that his wife Mai is having an affair and he kills her. Kinpei becomes enraged that his younger sister is murdered and kills Shinnosuke. To punish Kinpei, Iwane is ordered to kill his friend.

©2018 LIFE IN OVER TIME Production Committee
10/ 18 (Sun) 3:00PM(ET) /12:00PM(PT)
Sosuke Tashiro worked at a major bank (Hiroshi Tachi) and was on his way up careerwise, but he was transferred to a subsidiary company and is now retiring. He feels like his life is over and he doesn't know what to do next. Sosuke Tashiro decides he wants to work again and it doesn't matter what kind of work it is, but he realizes it's not so easy for him. He meets a person and the meeting changes his fate.

Drama

©TBS(Japan)
(2)
10/ 1 (Thu) 10:00PM(ET) /7:00PM(PT)
Reiko Kuki (Mayu Matsuoka) works in the accounting dept. for toy manufacturer. She lives her life frugally and hardly buys stuff that is not a necessity. A year ago, she found small dishes at a secondhand store and liked them immediately. And Finally, she makes the decision to purchase it for $15. She enters the store, but sees a man and woman buying small dishes at random. The man is Keita Saruwatari (Haruma Miura). His father runs the toy company where Reiko works. Reiko happens to be the person to advise Keita about money...

©NHK
(3)
10/ 2 (Fri) 12:35AM(ET) /9:35PM(PT)
A young man from Myanmar who loves Japanese Manga gets an opportunity to study it in Japan. He gets surprised at expensive house rent in Japan but finally finds an apartment with very cheap rent. However, it turns out that a female ghost lives in his room. He cannot give up the cheap rent and determines to share the room with the ghost. This is a story of his life in Japan surrounded by the ghost and other unique characters having various issues.

©NHK
(2)
10/ 2 (Fri) 8:00PM(ET) /5:00PM(PT)
Matsumura Shinbei(Katsunori Takahashi), an alcohol-loving and skilled wandering samurai, struggles to bring up his adopted baby Tsurunosuke as he runs about solving problems within the city.

©NHK
10/ 2 (Fri) 9:45PM(ET) /6:45PM(PT)
NHK's 102nd drama serial depicts the life of a famous composer Yuichi Koyama with his wife Oto Sekiuchi. They meet each other through music and overcome hardships together. Yuichi composes songs that become "Yells" for people all over Japan in Showa Era in which radical changes were going on.

©NHK
(3)
10/ 3 (Sat) 10:00PM(ET) /7:00PM(PT)
One day, unmotivated private detective Shimada receives a request from an old woman. She asks him to make the last wish of her acquaintance come true, promising that she spends any amount of money on it. Shimada questions why the client chose him for this task but working on it gradually enables him to deal with his tough memory. Later it turns out that the old woman's last wish is also hidden behind the request.

©TBS(Japan)
(8)
10/ 3 (Sat) 11:15PM(ET) /8:15PM(PT)
Unconventional banker Hanzawa, Naoki(Masato Sakai), has been successful in exposing numerous irregularities at his bank, the Tokyo Chuo Banking Corporation. As a result, he is seconded to the Tokyo Central Securities(TCS), to head their Corp. Development Dept. Soon after, the TCS is involved with a hostile takeover by a large IT company.Unbeknownst to Hanzawa , the bid will incite a competition war with a new bank. Will he be able to overcome the problems plaguing the TSC and inflict twice the pain on those making unreasonable demands?

©NHK
10/ 4 (Sun) 8:00PM(ET) /5:00PM(PT)
The 59th historical drama follows the life story of Mitsuhide Akechi, known as an intelligenet general in the Sengoku period. Filmed entirely in 4K ultra-high-definition, the drama depicts heroic stories of the legendary samurais through the turbulent age of Japan.

©NHK
(4)
10/ 4 (Sun) 11:15PM(ET) /8:15PM(PT)
The main character Hana, 78 years old, cares about her appearance a lot to make herself look younger than the real age. She tries to stay different from other elderlies who always take the easy way saying "I'm going to die soon anyway" to justify themselves. However, triggered by an incident, her fulfilling life changes suddenly. This is a story of her encountering new perspective and lifestyle by going through unexpected ups and downs.

©NIPPON TV
(6)
10/ 5 (Mon) 10:00PM(ET) /7:00PM(PT)
40-year-old Taro Obika (Tsuyoshi Muro) is a single father and works as a novelist. After his wife died from an illness, he has raised his daughter Sakura (Mei Nagano) alone. He loves his daughter Sakura deeply. Since Sakura only attended all girls' schools, he worries about her entering a coed university. To placate his worry, he decides to enroll in the same university as his daughter. Taro begins to enjoy campus life for himself.

©麻見和史・KADOKAWA/テレビ朝日
Tomo Yashiro (Haru) is a detective who is full of justice and passion. She is good at jujutsu. Risa Narumi (Kyoka Suzuki) is also a detective. She has a special ability to understand a writer’s personality and thoughts by reading their handwriting. Risa is not good at communicating with people.They work together to solve unsolved cases.

(1)
10/9 Fri.10:00PM(ET) /7:00PM(PT) Start

©KYODO TELEVISION/TBS
(1)
10/14 Wed. 10 :00AM(ET) /7:00PM(PT) Start
Hakuro (Satoshi Tsumabuki) works as a veterinarian. His father died when Hakuro was a child and his mother later remarried into the wealthy Yagami family. But he does not feel like part of them. After the death of Hakuro's mother, Hakuro broke off relations with that family. One day, he meets a woman. She introduces herself as the wife of his stepbrother and informs him that his stepbrother is missing. As Hakuro and the woman trace his stepbrother's whereabouts, Hakuro becomes involved in the Yagami family's fight over a three billion yen inheritance.

©NHK
(1)
10/18 Sun.11:15PM(ET) /8:15PM(PT) Start
One day, 50-year-old man Teppei, working for a medical company, gets to know that his wife has inherited 4.8 billion yen from her aunt. The property is still untouched and she had kept it a secret for 30 years. This fact changes Teppei’s life that has been common but happy, and lets him think what ‘family’, ‘money’, and ‘work’ really mean to his life.

©NIPPON TV
(1)
10/19 Mon.10:00PM(ET) /7:00PM(PT) Start
Driven by her motto "Live healthy, employees," occupational physician Mimi Ohzakura(Haru) keeps busy every day making sure everyone is well. Story dates back six months ago to the "corona panic." Mimi's new reality was all about stepping up to countless challenges day in and day out, but her efforts paid off and she takes pride in somehow managing to protect the company and its employees. Little did she imagine that in the midst of the firestorm, this strange desire to fall in love would start to nag her...

©Dai Yokozeki / Kodansha / 2020 Fuji Television Network, Inc.
(1)
10/22 Thu.10:00PM(ET) /7:00PM(PT) Start
Hana (Kyoko Fukada) and her family of master thieves hides from the world by pretending to be dead. They live at Kazuma’s (Koji Seto) home. Hana’s father Takeru (Atsuro Watabe) never stop stealing. Due to that, Kazuma’s father Norikazu (Masayuki Shida) gets sick. Hana’s family moves out from Kazuma’s home. Also, Hana and Kazuma move into an apartment together. Kazuma still has to lie to people that he is single. This is because Hana is supposed to be dead. And they get into trouble...

©テレビ朝日・東映
(1)
10/24 Sat.11:15PM(ET) /8:15PM(PT) Start
Two unique outlaw police investigators, Sakyo Sugishita(Yutaka Mizutani) and Wataru Kaburagi(Takashi Sorimachi)try to solve mysterious and clueless cases with their very original and outrageous ways.

10/ 30 (Fri) 12:40AM(ET) /9:40PM(PT)

©テレビ東京
Part 1
10/ 30 (Fri) 2:00AM(ET) /11:00PM(PT)
Kenji Amo (Shun Oguri) is a 2nd generation Japanese-American. He was born in America, but went to school in Japan. He returned to America to study at UCLA. Now, Kenji works as a reporter for a newspaper in the Little Tokyo area of Los Angeles.Charlie Tamiya (Tsuyoshi Muro) also studied at UCLA with Kenji. Charlie has feeling for Nagiko who works with Kenji at the same newspaper company. At this time, Nagiko's friend Emi Hatanaka asks Kenji to marry her. He accepts her proposal, but the Pacific War begins. Circumstances surrounding Kenji changes.

©テレビ東京
Part 2
10/ 31 (Sat) 2:00AM(ET) /11:00PM(PT)
Kenji Amo (Shun Oguri) is a 2nd generation Japanese-American. He was born in America, but went to school in Japan. He returned to America to study at UCLA. Now, Kenji works as a reporter for a newspaper in the Little Tokyo area of Los Angeles.Charlie Tamiya (Tsuyoshi Muro) also studied at UCLA with Kenji. Charlie has feeling for Nagiko who works with Kenji at the same newspaper company. At this time, Nagiko's friend Emi Hatanaka asks Kenji to marry her. He accepts her proposal, but the Pacific War begins. Circumstances surrounding Kenji changes.

Variety

©NHK
Featuring actor Takayuki Yamada as a speaker, this TV series anthropomorphizes plants boldly and depicts its strange and mysterious life. Both unpredictable drama story written by Takeshi Takemura and full-scale biology images by visual professionals lead us into the fascinating botanical world.

Matsuda Seiko 40th Anniversary, Going on Singing to the Wind
10/ 2 (Fri) 10:00PM(ET) /7:00PM(PT)
Matsuda Seiko marks her 40th anniversary from her debut this year. Since her debut as an idol, she bravely challenged herself in the US, and finally became the real artist. With the treasured video collections, and hearing the behind-the-scene stories from those around her, the program unveils her steps of 40 years of singing "to the wind" exactly like the theme of her latest song.

©NHK
Scary Stories at Work
10/ 4 (Sun) 9:15PM(ET) /6:15PM(PT)
TV producers from all over Japan compete to entertain you! Popular "products" will be selected for future regular time slot. Refresh yourself watching their best works!

©NHK
Ryunosuke kamiki
10/ 5 (Mon) 8:00PM(ET) /5:00PM(PT)
Veteran rakugo storyteller Shofukutei Tsurube travels across Japan with a personality, introducing families they meet along the way.

©NHK
Enjoy an unprecedented interview program hosted by two mole puppets. Guests who can't show their faces in public will also appear as puppets and answer plainly to delicate questions one after another.

©NHK
Scary Stories at Work Part2
10/ 11 (Sun) 9:15PM(ET) /6:15PM(PT)
TV producers from all over Japan compete to entertain you! Popular "products" will be selected for future regular time slot. Refresh yourself watching their best works!

©NHK
10/12 Mon.1:00AM(ET) /10:00PM(PT) Start
Leading persons from different fields gather and talk surrounding bonfire. Bonfire makes them relaxed and honest, and brings out their true feelings. Be released from sorrow and depression by enjoying new type of entertainment show.

©NHK
10/ 13 (Tue) 12:05AM(ET) /9:05PM(PT)
Nowadays Japanese culture is considered cool around the world. Find out why with a group of foreigners who, each week, look into all things Japanese.

©NHK
Cheese in France
10/ 13 (Tue) 8:55PM(ET) /5:55PM(PT)
Let's embark on a journey of discovery with top buyers! From fashion to gourmet and interior, finest items selected by professional connoisseurs will be introduced along with behind-the-scenes stories.

©NHK
10/ 13 (Tue) 10:00PM(ET) /7:00PM(PT)
Guests gather at a restaurant to reveal their own love episodes. This time, famous model Kiko Mizuhara, popular musicians such as Kavka Shishido, Show Aikawa, and some other guests enjoy talking about their private experiences which can rarely be heard.

©NHK
Panko
10/ 14 (Wed) 8:55PM(ET) /5:55PM(PT)
Useful information on health and everyday life is conveyed through various scientific demonstrations in an easy-to-understand way.

©NHK
10/ 15 (Thu) 8:50PM(ET) /5:50PM(PT)
A straight talk with Matsuko! Welcome to the world that is unknown to Matsuko Deluxe.Matsuko and her guests talk one on one without reservations. Guests from all types of professions are invited to present topics to discuss from their own specialties or their current interests. The unique and intriguing world views of each guest are challenged by Matsuko who does not hold anything back.

©NIPPON TV
10/ 16 (Fri) 8:57PM(ET) /5:57PM(PT)
Whether on land, at sea, or in the air, the world is full of mysteries and adventures waiting to be experienced. The Quest will travel anywhere in the world for the chance to take on any challenge, in a way that will surely make you laugh! It just might be the first program to sucessfully combine variety, science, and comedy!

©NHK
Sweet Potato
10/ 18 (Sun) 8:46PM(ET) /5:46PM(PT)
The show is MC-ed by comedian Hiroiki Ariyoshi. The mascot character "Kaneo-kun", who loves money, visits various places, including popular visiting locations, and looks into different phenomena to learn how money plays a role. The undertaking help unravel unexpected trends in society. The program, which can be enjoyed by every member of the family, offers much food for thought.

©NHK
Scary Stories at Work Part 3
10/ 18 (Sun) 9:15PM(ET) /6:15PM(PT)
TV producers from all over Japan compete to entertain you! Popular "products" will be selected for future regular time slot. Refresh yourself watching their best works!

©NHK
Onion
10/ 21 (Wed) 8:55PM(ET) /5:55PM(PT)
Useful information on health and everyday life is conveyed through various scientific demonstrations in an easy-to-understand way.

Top Chef's Private Meal
10/ 24 (Sat) 12:35AM(ET) /9:35PM(PT)
TV producers from all over Japan compete to entertain you! Popular "products" will be selected for future regular time slot. Refresh yourself watching their best works!

©NIPPON TV
10/ 25 (Sun) 9:17PM(ET) /6:17PM(PT)

©NHK
10/ 30 (Fri) 8:57PM(ET) /5:57PM(PT)
Comedy skits depicting joys and sorrows of life will be presented in omnibus formats.

©NHK
Top Chef's Private Meal
10/ 31 (Sat) 12:25AM(ET) /9:25PM(PT)
TV producers from all over Japan compete to entertain you! Popular "products" will be selected for future regular time slot. Refresh yourself watching their best works!

Doumentary

©NHK
Visualizing Mechanism of COVID-19 Infection
10/ 4 (Sun) 10:00PM(ET) /7:00PM(PT)
NHK has been trying to visualize the risk of COVID-19 infection since the pandemic started to widespread in the world on March 2020. The joint experiment with specialists, making use of special filming technologies and simulation results reveal the mechanism and effective prevention against its infection.

©NHK
10/ 5 (Mon) 9:00AM(ET) /6:00AM(PT)

©NHK
Hasegawa Hiroki, Fish Broker
10/ 6 (Tue) 11:20PM(ET) /8:20PM(PT)
A documentary series that focuses on first-class professionals from various fields.

Search for Record-Breaking Giant Japanese Cedar Trees on Yakushima Island! Complete Edition
10/ 7 (Wed) 8:00PM(ET) /5:00PM(PT)

©NHK
Music Resonates
10/ 10 (Sat) 2:00PM(ET) /11:00AM(PT)
A close-up look at cities worldwide, as seen by a walking tourist. Viewers visit places off the beaten path, meet ordinary people, and enjoy a travel experience that's only possible on foot.

©NHK
Izu Part1
10/ 11 (Sun) 7:10PM(ET) /4:10PM(PT)
Comedian Tamori takes you on a tour to offer a glimpse of history hidden in modern scenes. Part 2 will be aired at same time on 10/18

©テレビ東京
10/ 16 (Fri) 11:15PM(ET) /8:15PM(PT)
This program reveals current social and business topics in Japan.

©NHK
Nijyou Castle
10/ 23 (Fri) 11:10PM(ET) /8:10PM(PT)

©NHK
Have a Go of Short Communal Life Abroad!: Barcelona
10/ 24 (Sat) 7:40PM(ET) /4:40PM(PT)
A unique travelogue program in which two guests who are active in a different field try to live together abroad! They rent a flat locally, experience the lifestyles of foreign countries and have a relationship with the local people.

10/ 25 (Sun) 7:10PM(ET) /4:10PM(PT)

©NHK
Odawara Castle
10/ 30 (Fri) 11:10PM(ET) /8:10PM(PT)
Spotlighting attractions of castles all over Japan. This episode introduces castles built by Mitsuhide Akechi, a general in the Sengoku period (from the late 15th to the late 16th century). Comparing them to another general’s castle sheds light on true story about Mitsuhide.

©NHK
10/ 31 (Sat) 7:40PM(ET) /4:40PM(PT)

Hobby

10/ 5 (Mon) 12:10PM(ET) /9:10AM(PT)
It is not easy traveling abroad under the current situation of the world the COVID-19 infection spreading. However, we always want to travel and interact with people all around the world. Then, let’s prepare for the future travel! In this program, you can learn Spanish from the first step with an actor Ihara Rikka.

10/ 6 (Tue) 12:10PM(ET) /9:10AM(PT)
It is not easy traveling abroad under the current situation of the world the COVID-19 infection spreading. However, we always want to travel and interact with people all around the world. Then, let’s prepare for the future travel! In this program, you can learn French from the first step.

Sports

10/ 9 (Fri) 2:50AM(ET) /11:50PM(PT)

PAGE TOP