Featured Programs

Movie

© 2017 "What a Wonderful Family! 2" Film Partners
6/ 28 (Fri) 3:00AM(ET) /12:00AM(PT)
Story takes place several years after Shuzo (Isao Hashizume) and his wife Tomiko (Kazuko Yoshiyuki) nearly divorced.Shuzo still enjoys driving his own car. His oldest son Konosuke (Masahiko Nishimura) and his wife Fumie (Yui Natsukawa) notice a dent on Shuzo’s car. They worry that Shuzo is now too old to safely drive. They make a plan to have Shuzo return his driver's license. Shuzo's daughter Taizo (Shozo Hayashiya) and her husband Shigeko (Tomoko Nakajima) and Shuzo's youngest son Shota (Satoshi Tsumabuki) and his girlfriend Noriko (Yu Aoi) are also worried about Shuzo’s driving...

©2018 "What a Wonderful Family! 3: My Wife, My Life" Film Partners
7/ 6 (Sat) 8:50PM(ET) /5:50PM(PT)
At the Hirata home, three generations of their family live together. A crisis ensues when one afternoon, housewife Fumie (Yui Natsukawa) falls asleep and wakes up to find a thief has stolen her secret money she kept hidden in the refrigerator. She saved the money steadily over time. Her husband Konosuke (Masahiko Nishimura) incredulously asks "You saved up money from my earnings?" Fumie becomes upset and leaves the house. The whole family soon falls into a state of chaos because of her absence.

©2018 "COLOR ME TRUE" Film Partners
7/ 13 (Sat) 8:10PM(ET) /5:10PM(PT)
Kenji (Kentaro Sakaguchi) is a young aspiring movie director. He falls in love with Princess Miyuki (Haruka Ayase) who came from a black‐and‐white movie.

©2017 Fuji Television Network, Toho, Horipro
7/ 28 (Sun) 2:00PM(ET) /11:00AM(PT)
In Kyoto, Mayuko (Haruka Ayase) stands at a crossroad in her life. She's thinking about marriage with her boyfriend Kyoichi (Hiroyuki Hirayama). By an accidental opportunity, Mayuko stays at Honnouji Hotel. There, she meets historical figure Nobunaga Oda (Shinichi Tsutsumi) who is attempting to unify Japan.

Drama

©TBS Sparkle/TBS(Japan)
(10)
6/ 25 (Tue) 10:00PM(ET) /7:00PM(PT)
Tetsu Himokura (Tomohisa Yamashita) is a parasitologist. He enjoys researching the lives of parasites at his home laboratory and he barely leaves his home. Tetsu 's right hand is a robotic prosthetic hand. He is very smart, but blunt to others.Tomoe Makino is a bureaucrat from the Science Medical Countermeasure Office at the Cabinet Secretariat. He visits Tetsu. Tomoe asks for cooperation with Tetsu to work on unknown creatures and diseases.

©TBS Sparkle/TBS(Japan)
(10)
6/ 26 (Wed) 10:00PM(ET) /7:00PM(PT)
Yui Higashiyama (Yuriko Yoshitaka) works as a director at WEB Production Company. Due to her workaholic father and bad experiences in the past, she loathes working overtime. Even 2 years ago, she broke off her engagement to Kotaro Taneda (Osamu Mukai) because he was a workaholic. At her job, Yui always leaves at the end of the regular working day and never works overtime. Her peaceful days begin to change after a new department head arrives at work.

©テレビ朝日
A few months before a law is enacted that requires the recording of all police interrogations, police officers gather at the Tokyo Metropolitan Police Department and they receive instruction on how to treat suspects better. They observe, Yukiko Makabe(Yuki Amami) from the special interrogation team Kintori interrogate a suspect who does not show any signs of remorse. Yukiko uses sharp words and shows a lack of respect towards the suspect....

©NHK
(5)
6/ 28 (Fri) 8:00PM(ET) /5:00PM(PT)
A story about Kumokiri Nizaemon, a thief-of-all-time and the leader of a gang of thieves, who brilliantly steals an enormous sum of money from the rich by non-violent means without leaving any trace.

©NHK
(78)
6/ 28 (Fri) 9:45PM(ET) /6:45PM(PT)
The 100th Drama Serial revolves around the heroine, Natsu, who grows up in the great outdoors of Hokkaido, northern Japan and later pursues a career in animated films during its formative years.

©TBS(Japan)
(9)
6/ 29 (Sat) 11:15PM(ET) /8:15PM(PT)
Hiroshi Kataoka(Masaharu Fukuyama) works at a bank. He receives a promotion to manager of the Kamata branch. He is also informed that the Kamata branch will be shut down and he does not have to work hard. After the branch's shutdown, he will work again at the bank's headquarters. He sees the branch employees work hard and they do not know the branch will close. Hiroshi is conflicted between his job and his employees...

©NHK
(25)
6/ 30 (Sun) 8:00PM(ET) /5:00PM(PT)
NHK's historical drama for 2019 follows the life story of Shiso Kanakuri and Masaji Tabata in a relay format, tracing the turbulent history from the Stockholm Olympic games in 1912 to the Tokyo games in 1964. Kanakuri was the only Japanese marathon runner who competed in the 1912 games, the first Olympics where Japan took part. Tabata played a significant role in hosting the 1964 Tokyo Olympics.

©NHK
A special sequel of Drama Serial "Hiyokko," about Mineko, a girl born in Ibaraki Prefecture, who comes up to Tokyo for the mass employment during the high economic growth period. Now in this 4-episode sequel, the story revolves around the marriage life of Mineko and Hidetoshi.

©1965 山崎豊子/新潮社 ©テレビ朝日
(1)
7/8.Start, 7/8 Mon.-7/12 Fri. 10:00PM(ET) /7:00PM(PT)
Goro Zaizen (Junichi Okada) is an associate professor in the department of surgery at a university hospital. He is a talented surgeon and famous for laparoscopy surgery. He is also respected by his students. Goro came from a poor family and everything he has achieved he has worked for. Because he is ambitious, confident and arrogant, some people hold antipathy for him. Goro pursues becoming a professor in the surgery department.

©TBS(Japan)
(1)
7/13 Sat. 11:15PM(ET) /8:15PM(PT)Start
Kimijima Hayato(Yo Ohizumi) works for a big manufacturing company. He wants to be successful at his job and he is mentioned for a promotion, but he opposes the company undertaking a project led by his boss. This leads to Kimijima being demoted to a chief of general affairs position at a factory in the province. He is also ordered to work as the general manager of the company's rugby team named Astros...

©©Akiko Higashimura/YLAB JAPAN Corporation ©NIPPON TV
(1)
7/15 Mon. 10:00PM(ET) /7:00PM(PT)Start
Shoko Hama (Ann) is a 32-year-old single woman and a contract worker. She is not good at romance and does not have a boyfriend, but she wants to get married. For the past 2 years, she has been looking for a man to marry. Still unable to find the right guy, Shoko Hama decides to take a solo trip. While on the airplane, she meets a handsome younger man. During her trip, she happens to meet the younger man again. Shoko lies to him and tells him that she is a married woman...

©2019フジテレビジョン
(1)
7/16 Tue. 10:00PM(ET) /7:00PM(PT)Start
Asagao (Juri Ueno) is a rookie forensic scientist, who works at a university forensic medicine class in Kanagawa Prefecture. Asagao lives with her father Taira (Saburo Tokito), who is a veteran detective. One day, Asagao’s forensic medicine class unexpectedly works with the investigation section of the police department. When a dead body is found, the dead body is transferred to Asagao’s forensic medicine class. Asagao now works with her detective father.

©2019フジテレビジョン
(1)
7/17 Wed. 10:00PM(ET) /7:00PM(PT)Start
Hana’s (Kyoko Fukada) comes from a family that has been thieves for generations. Hana refuses to become a thief and she wants to live a normal life. She currently works as a librarian and she is dating Kazuma (Koji Seto), who works as a public officer. She hears that Kazuma’s family are all public officers. One day, Hana visits Kazuma’s family. She discovers that Kazuma ’s family, including Kazuma, are actually all police officers.

©テレビ朝日・東映
(1)
7/18 Thu. 10:00PM(ET) /7:00PM(PT)Start
Yu Amagi (Noriyuki Higashiyama) works forf the 1st investigation division. The team is known as a grave for detectives and they are filled with expelled detectives. The 7 members though are excellent detectives. They have conflicts with each other, but cooperate and solve difficult cases.

©NHK

©NHK
(1)
7/26 Fri. 10:00PM(ET) /7:00PM(PT)Start

©NHK
7/27 Sat. 1:05AM(ET) /10:05PM(PT)Start

©NHK
7/ 28 (Sun) 11:15PM(ET) /8:15PM(PT)

Variety

©NHK
Unexpected advices from different perspectives are given by tribal chiefs around the world in response to questions about various issues we face today. Their unique philosophies and values bring rays of hope to us.

©NHK
Wedding Dress, New York
6/ 27 (Thu) 11:20PM(ET) /8:20PM(PT)
Let's embark on a journey of discovery with top buyers! From fashion to gourmet and interior, finest items selected by professional connoisseurs will be introduced along with behind-the-scenes stories.

©Asahi TV Broadcasting Corp.
6/ 29 (Sat) 7:40PM(ET) /4:40PM(PT)
Adventurous Places, Unbelievable Stories! Is this a simple travel show? - NO! A documentary? - NO! The format offers a mix of unimaginable adventure and human stories! A traveler goes in search for their fellow Japanese countrymen in faraway places.

©NHK
6/ 30 (Sun) 11:15PM(ET) /8:15PM(PT)
Comedy skits depicting joys and sorrows of life will be presented in omnibus formats.

©NHK
Munetaka Aoki
7/ 1 (Mon) 8:00PM(ET) /5:00PM(PT)
Veteran rakugo storyteller Shofukutei Tsurube travels across Japan with a personality, introducing families they meet along the way.

7/ 2 (Tue) 9:15PM(ET) /6:15PM(PT)

Part 5
7/ 3 (Wed) 8:00PM(ET) /5:00PM(PT)
A viewer-participating program hosted by Shingo Murakami and Koji Higashino. Selected applicants will talk about their funny big failure stories on the special stage. The winner will be awarded the NHK Trophy.

©NHK
BBQ
7/ 3 (Wed) 8:55PM(ET) /5:55PM(PT)
Useful information on health and everyday life is conveyed through various scientific demonstrations in an easy-to-understand way.

©NHK
Names
7/ 9 (Tue) 12:30AM(ET) /9:30PM(PT)
Nowadays Japanese culture is considered cool around the world. Find out why with a group of foreigners who, each week, look into all things Japanese.

©NHK
Rubella
7/ 10 (Wed) 8:55PM(ET) /5:55PM(PT)
Useful information on health and everyday life is conveyed through various scientific demonstrations in an easy-to-understand way.

7/ 11 (Thu) 1:00AM(ET) /10:00PM(PT)

©NIPPON TV
Here is a peek at the fascinating world of toddlers...as seen literally from their height. Parents have given permission for their children to be recorded secretly while running errands alone for the first time. Disguised as local, production staff stay close by to ensure the children’s safety. It reveals not only children’s candid behavior, but also their strong sense of accomplishment gained from thinking and acting independently.

©NIPPON TV
7/ 18 (Thu) 8:50PM(ET) /5:50PM(PT)
A straight talk with Matsuko! Welcome to the world that is unknown to Matsuko Deluxe.Matsuko and her guests talk one on one without reservations. Guests from all types of professions are invited to present topics to discuss from their own specialties or their current interests. The unique and intriguing world views of each guest are challenged by Matsuko who does not hold anything back.

©NHK
Kingdom of Belgium
7/ 21 (Sun) 3:00PM(ET) /12:00PM(PT)
Treasure hunting travelogue visiting flea markets around the world. In this episode,acatress, Mari Hamada and actor, Hayato Isomura travel to Kingdom of Belgium.

©NIPPON TV
7/ 26 (Fri) 8:57PM(ET) /5:57PM(PT)
Whether on land, at sea, or in the air, the world is full of mysteries and adventures waiting to be experienced. The Quest will travel anywhere in the world for the chance to take on any challenge, in a way that will surely make you laugh! It just might be the first program to sucessfully combine variety, science, and comedy!

©Asahi TV Broadcasting Corp.
7/ 27 (Sat) 7:40PM(ET) /4:40PM(PT)
Adventurous Places, Unbelievable Stories! Is this a simple travel show? - NO! A documentary? - NO! The format offers a mix of unimaginable adventure and human stories! A traveler goes in search for their fellow Japanese countrymen in faraway places.

©NHK
7/ 27 (Sat) 11:15PM(ET) /8:15PM(PT)

Anime

©Hiroko Reijo, Asami, KODANSHA / WAKAOKAMI Project
7/2 Tue. 6:30PM(ET) /3:30PM(PT)Start
12-year-old Oriko Seki, who lost her parents in a car accident, ended up living in her grandmother's Onsen Ryokan "Haru no Ya." With the ghost "Uribou" cohabitating with her and all the other odds, she ended up training to be a young female innkeeper. At first, she didn't like the training, but gradually felt her admiration for her title and began to train seriously. Thus, the growth of the young warrior Oriko begins.

Doumentary

©NHK
Orthopedic Surgeon Koichi Sairyo
6/ 25 (Tue) 11:15PM(ET) /8:15PM(PT)
A documentary series that focuses on first-class professionals from various fields.

©NHK
"Tokyo Miracle" Part 2: Massive Train Network
6/ 29 (Sat) 10:05PM(ET) /7:05PM(PT)
Train network in Tokyo Metropolitan area is well-known for its complexity and punctuality. In this episode, a camera was allowed into the operation control center of East Japan Railway Company for the first time, where the employees were confronting the massive rushes of passengers in the spring season.

©NHK
Investigating West Japan Flood
6/ 30 (Sun) 10:00PM(ET) /7:00PM(PT)
The West Japan Flood in 2018 was the worst rain disaster of the Heisei era. Behind the massive flooding was the domino effect of "backwater phenomena" and "washouts." Also, the large-scale survey conducted by the local governments revealed that only a few of the residents evacuated despite the evacuation order. What made the difference between life and death. We try to find the keys to disaster prevention, from the lessons learned from the case of western Japan.

©NHK
Cleaning Professional
7/ 2 (Tue) 11:15PM(ET) /8:15PM(PT)
A documentary based on timely subjects famous for its dignity and in-depth reporting.

©NHK
Yohji Yamamoto's Black
7/ 3 (Wed) 10:00PM(ET) /7:00PM(PT)
Yohji Yamamoto is a leading Japanese fashion designer. From the 80s, his collection has long fascinated the world with its all-black look. What's the message behind his designs?

©NHK
7/ 3 (Wed) 11:15PM(ET) /8:15PM(PT)
Enjoy the exciting revelations of inspiring human drama of heroes, great artists and even the ordinary people that helped shape 1800 years of Japan's history.

©NHK
7/ 4 (Thu) 10:00PM(ET) /7:00PM(PT)

©NHK
Everybody wishes to live a healthy long life, not excepting great figures of history. By learning from their obsession with health, the program finds clues to our healthy life.

©NHK
Actor, Shinnosuke Majima and Munetaka Aoki introduce you to the ultimate hotels. You'll be amazed at the unusual and strange hotels located in unbelievably remote areas. Watch and find out another way of enjoying hotels!

©NHK
Aso, Kumamoto
7/ 7 (Sun) 7:10PM(ET) /4:10PM(PT)
Comedian Tamori takes you on a tour to offer a glimpse of history hidden in modern scenes.

©NHK
7/ 7 (Sun) 10:00PM(ET) /7:00PM(PT)
A documentary based on timely subjects famous for its dignity and in-depth reporting.

©NHK
NHK has followed the Japanese immigrants to South America in its documentaries for the past half century. Each decade, NHK has made a documentary on these immigrants. This episode spotlights a man who emigrated to Paraguay 50 years ago, and his family.

©NHK
7/ 14 (Sun) 10:00PM(ET) /7:00PM(PT)
A documentary based on timely subjects famous for its dignity and in-depth reporting.

©NHK
A Blind Yachtsman's Voyage Across the Pacific
7/ 15 (Mon) 10:20AM(ET) /7:20AM(PT)
A documentary about Hiro Iwamoto, a completely blind Japanese yachtsman. Having lost his sights at the age of 16, he trained hard to become a pro yachtsman. This documentary follows his second attempt to sail across the Pacific Ocean. Accompanied by an American friend, Hiro successfully crossed the Pacific from San Diego to Fukushima in 55 days.

©NHK
Hakodate, Japan
7/ 15 (Mon) 8:00PM(ET) /5:00PM(PT)
A new type of travelogue discovering cities and people across the globe through a once-in-a-lifetime encounter with local taxi drivers. Enjoy the scenery from the taxi window that makes you feel as if you were there.

©NHK
7/ 19 (Fri) 10:00PM(ET) /7:00PM(PT)
A special of TOKYO Deep!, digging up little-known information of different spots in Tokyo, a trendsetting yet traditional city.

©NHK
Black hole
7/ 20 (Sat) 4:00PM(ET) /1:00PM(PT)
A scientific information program which explains the latest research, disasters and accidents from scientific aspects with a virtual set in the studio.

©NHK
7/ 27 (Sat) 10:05PM(ET) /7:05PM(PT)
A documentary based on timely subjects famous for its dignity and in-depth reporting.

©NHK
"Space Spectacle" Part 2
7/ 28 (Sun) 10:00PM(ET) /7:00PM(PT)
A documentary based on timely subjects famous for its dignity and in-depth reporting.

Hobby

Summer Special
7/ 20 (Sat) 12:20AM(ET) /9:20PM(PT)
This unconventional art program introduces the great variety of beauty to be found in the arts and crafts related to everyday Japanese life.

Sports

PAGE TOP