Featured Programs

Movie

©2019 “The Promised Land” Film Partners
A little girl is kidnapped along a Y-shaped road, but the kidnapper is not caught. Tsumugi (Hana Sugisaki), who was with the girl right before the kidnapping, is deeply hurt from the event. 12 years later, a girl goes missing along the same place. Takeshi (Gou Ayano) is a lonely young man and sells recyclable products with his mother. He is a suspect in the recent kidnapping case. He panics when he realizes he is a suspect and runs away to another city. 1 year later, Zenjiro (Koichi Sato) lives with his pet dog near the place where the two kidnapping cases took place. He carries out business to revitalize the village, but somehow he is blamed by the people there. He falls into madness and that leads to a horrific case.

©1949 松竹株式会社
11/ 26 (Thu) 2:00AM(ET) /11:00PM(PT)
In the film, Hibari Misora plays a young war orphan, Tanaka, Mitsuko, searching for her older brother Kenzo¯(Hara, Yasumi), a repatriated soldier.

©1950 松竹株式会社
11/ 26 (Thu) 3:24AM(ET) /12:24AM(PT)
Hibari Misora's performance in Tokyo Kid , in which she played a run away girl, made her symbolic of both the hardship and the national optimism of post-World War II Japan.

©Oh Lucy!, LLC
11/ 27 (Fri) 11:15PM(ET) /8:15PM(PT)
Setsuko Kawashima (Shinobu Terajima) works an unfulfilling job at a Tokyo office. She stores candy given to her by a coworker in her desk and lives in a tiny, unkempt apartment. One day, her niece Mika Ogawa (Shiori Kutsuna) tells her to take an English class. The class is given at a karaoke like establishment and her English teacher is John. John likes to hug and gives Setsuko an enthusiastic welcome. Setsuko then takes up the name Lucy for her English class. Soon, Setsuko travels to America in search of John, her niece and for meaning in her life.

©TOEI
11/ 28 (Sat) 3:00AM(ET) /12:00AM(PT)
Hibari Misora and Chiemi Eri performed as Yaji and Kita, who travel through Tokaido. Enjoy Samurai Musical with lots of their songs and dance.

Drama

© NIPPON TV
(2)
10/ 26 (Mon) 10:00PM(ET) /7:00PM(PT)
Physician Mimi Ohzakura(Haru) keeps busy every day making sure everyone is well. Story dates back 6 months ago to the "corona panic." Mimi's new reality was all about stepping up to countless challenges day in and day out. Little did she imagine that in the midst of the firestorm, this strange desire to fall in love would start to nag her...

© KYODO TELEVISION/TBS
(3)
10/ 28 (Wed) 10:00PM(ET) /7:00PM(PT)
Hakuro (Satoshi Tsumabuki) is a veterinarian. His father died when he was a child and his mother later remarried into the wealthy Yagami family. But After his mother died, he broke off relations with them. One day, he meets a woman(Yuriko Yoshitaka) who is the wife of his stepbrother and informs him that his stepbrother is missing. As Hakuro and the woman trace his stepbrother's whereabouts, Hakuro involves in the Yagami family's fight over a 3 billion yen inheritance.

©Dai Yokozeki / Kodansha / 2020 Fuji Television Network, Inc.
(2)
10/ 29 (Thu) 10:00PM(ET) /7:00PM(PT)
Hana (Kyoko Fukada) and her family hides from the world by pretending to be dead. They live at Kazuma’s (Koji Seto) home. Hana’s father Takeru (Atsuro Watabe) never stop stealing. Due to that, Kazuma’s father gets sick. Hana’s family moves out from Kazuma’s home. Also, Hana and Kazuma move into an apartment together. Kazuma still has to lie to people that he is single. And they get into trouble...

10/ 30 (Fri) 12:40AM(ET) /9:40PM(PT)

©テレビ東京
Part 1
10/ 30 (Fri) 2:00AM(ET) /11:00PM(PT)
Kenji Amo (Shun Oguri) is a 2nd generation Japanese-American. He was born in America, but went to school in Japan. He returned to America to study at UCLA. Now, Kenji works as a reporter for a newspaper in the Little Tokyo area of Los Angeles.Charlie Tamiya (Tsuyoshi Muro) also studied at UCLA with Kenji. Charlie has feeling for Nagiko who works with Kenji at the same newspaper company. At this time, Nagiko's friend Emi Hatanaka asks Kenji to marry her. He accepts her proposal, but the Pacific War begins. Circumstances surrounding Kenji changes.

©テレビ東京
Part 2
10/ 31 (Sat) 2:00AM(ET) /11:00PM(PT)
Kenji Amo (Shun Oguri) is a 2nd generation Japanese-American. He was born in America, but went to school in Japan. He returned to America to study at UCLA. Now, Kenji works as a reporter for a newspaper in the Little Tokyo area of Los Angeles.Charlie Tamiya (Tsuyoshi Muro) also studied at UCLA with Kenji. Charlie has feeling for Nagiko who works with Kenji at the same newspaper company. At this time, Nagiko's friend Emi Hatanaka asks Kenji to marry her. He accepts her proposal, but the Pacific War begins. Circumstances surrounding Kenji changes.

©ABC TV・tv asahi・松竹
10/ 31 (Sat) 3:10PM(ET) /12:10PM(PT)
Edo constable Watanabe,Shogoro (Higashiyama,Noriyuki) is worried about his wife Fuku (Nakagoshi,Noriko). She has been depressed ever since her mother died a year ago. His colleague Hikozaemon thinks exchanging her mother’s personal belongings for some other things is a good way for her to find closure. He introduces Yakichi (Ito,Kentaro) who barters goods with people besides apprenticing at a oil wholesale dealer...

©NHK
(1)
11/6 Fri.12:35AM(ET) /9:35PM(PT) Start
It is based on a popular novel series by mystery novelist Kimoto Kanata. Sara, a daughter of Emma (the King of Hell) and a judicator in the afterlife, sets a game that lets the dead who want to come back to life infer the reasons who, why, how were they murdered!

©Masahito Kagawa,Naomi Kimura,YoshinobuSato/Jitsugyo no Nihon Sha, Ltd. ©Fuji Television Network, Inc.
(1)
11/10 Tue.10:00PM(ET) /7:00PM(PT) Start
Asagao (Juri Ueno) continues her work as a forensic scientist at a university forensic medicine class in Kanagawa Prefecture. Her father Taira (Saburo Tokito) and her husband Shinya (Shunsuke Kazama) are busy with their work as detectives. Her daughter Tsugumi (Yuzuna Kato) insists on having a younger sibling. Asagao spends ordinary days with her family, but, due to a reason, Asagao visits the Tohoku Region alone to find her mother’s dead body.

©NHK
(1)
11/13 Fri.8:00PM(ET) /5:00PM(PT) Start
Hisroical drama series with sword fights and heart-warming stories, depicting the people of that time.

© Akiko Higashimura / KODANSHA LTD.© NIPPON TV
11/ 14 (Sat) 8:15PM(ET) /5:15PM(PT)
Story bigins 3 years later when 30-year-old Rinko Kamata (Yuriko Yoshitaka) works as an unpopular screenwriter. She did not have a boyfriend, but she has two female friends Kaori and Koyuki. They meet regularly at a bar. There, they complain about their situations and go through what if scenarios. One day, Rinko Kamata decides to go for happiness at love and work.

©テレビ朝日・東映
11/ 29 (Sun) 2:45PM(ET) /11:45AM(PT)
39 year old Meiko Amabuki works as an attorney. She is married to Goro Aizawa, but due to several issues, they are separated. One day, Meiko decides to file for divorce. They fight over custody of their daughter.One day, her daughter is kidnapped. The kidnapper demands that a suspect in a murder case that she is working on receive a 'not guilty' judgement. She has 7 days before the trial ends...

11/29 Sun.9:45PM(ET) /6:45PM(PT) Start

Variety

©NHK
Yuji Tanaka
10/ 26 (Mon) 8:00PM(ET) /5:00PM(PT)
The program unveils the family history of TV celebrities.

©NHK
KIMONO Special in Kyoto
10/ 27 (Tue) 8:55PM(ET) /5:55PM(PT)
An information program for people in their 50s and 60s providing tips on how to have a fulfilling second life.

©NHK
fish sausage
10/ 28 (Wed) 8:55PM(ET) /5:55PM(PT)
Useful information on health and everyday life is conveyed through various scientific demonstrations in an easy-to-understand way.

©NHK
10/ 30 (Fri) 8:57PM(ET) /5:57PM(PT)
Comedy skits depicting joys and sorrows of life will be presented in omnibus formats.

©NHK
Top Chef's Private Meal
10/ 31 (Sat) 12:25AM(ET) /9:25PM(PT)
TV producers from all over Japan compete to entertain you! Popular "products" will be selected for future regular time slot. Refresh yourself watching their best works!

©NHK
Daichi Miura in Akita
11/ 2 (Mon) 8:00PM(ET) /5:00PM(PT)
Veteran rakugo storyteller Shofukutei Tsurube travels across Japan with a personality, introducing families they meet along the way.

©NHK
11/ 4 (Wed) 8:55PM(ET) /5:55PM(PT)
Professional stylists give you hints on how to choose and let go of clothing. Having an ideal 'closet' will help you becoming who you want to be.

©NIPPON TV
11/ 6 (Fri) 8:57PM(ET) /5:57PM(PT)
Whether on land, at sea, or in the air, the world is full of mysteries and adventures waiting to be experienced. The Quest will travel anywhere in the world for the chance to take on any challenge, in a way that will surely make you laugh! It just might be the first program to sucessfully combine variety, science, and comedy!

©NHK
11/ 10 (Tue) 1:05AM(ET) /10:05PM(PT)
Single households now account for one-third of all households in Japan. The program sheds light on how these people spend their Friday evenings alone, or solo, and leaves the viewers with a feeling of contentment that being alone isn't such a bad thing after all.

©NHK
11/ 11 (Wed) 8:55PM(ET) /5:55PM(PT)
Useful information on health and everyday life is conveyed through various scientific demonstrations in an easy-to-understand way.

©NHK
11/ 15 (Sun) 9:15PM(ET) /6:15PM(PT)
Introducing many cute fluffy pets and heart-warming relationships between humans and animals with touching episodes through a variety of segments.

©NHK
11/ 17 (Tue) 12:05AM(ET) /9:05PM(PT)
Nowadays Japanese culture is considered cool around the world. Find out why with a group of foreigners who, each week, look into all things Japanese.

©テレビ朝日
11/ 22 (Sun) 3:00PM(ET) /12:00PM(PT)
Shingo Murakami, Shouta Yasuda, Tadayoshi Ohkura from Kanjani∞ presents the No.1 Music King Contest for the best singer and piano player of all the professional participants. This episode feaures Kids Special!

©NHK
11/ 27 (Fri) 10:00PM(ET) /7:00PM(PT)
Having various people wear special camera glasses, the program focuses on the move of their eyes. Where does “sneak thief” look at? What is the difference between “bus driver” and amateur drivers? Why “wild animal trainer in the circus troupe” is not attacked by their animals? You will find the secrets and techniques of “move of eyes”.

Doumentary

©NHK
Minami Tanaka
10/ 27 (Tue) 11:15PM(ET) /8:15PM(PT)
A documentary series that focuses on first-class professionals from various fields.

©NHK
Odawara Castle
10/ 30 (Fri) 11:10PM(ET) /8:10PM(PT)
Spotlighting attractions of castles all over Japan. This episode introduces castles built by Mitsuhide Akechi, a general in the Sengoku period (from the late 15th to the late 16th century). Comparing them to another general’s castle sheds light on true story about Mitsuhide.

©NHK
10/ 31 (Sat) 7:40PM(ET) /4:40PM(PT)

©NHK
Kyohei Tsutsumi
10/ 31 (Sat) 10:00PM(ET) /7:00PM(PT)
A documentary based on timely subjects famous for its dignity and in-depth reporting.

©NHK
Life Force Special: Miraculous Landscapes from Season 3
11/ 3 (Tue) 1:00PM(ET) /10:00AM(PT)
Special edition of NHK Special "Life Force" focusing on biodiversity hotspots--a small number of places that account for just 3% of all the land on Earth where 75% of the mammals, birds, and amphibians that currently face extinction are found. Enjoy especially magnificent sights of three spots.

©NHK
11/ 3 (Tue) 8:00PM(ET) /5:00PM(PT)
Fixed camera in some households capture the families' days with their new cats and dogs. This episode cat and dog as pet. also introduces tips for welcoming

11/ 12 (Thu) 11:45PM(ET) /8:45PM(PT)

©テレビ東京
11/ 13 (Fri) 11:15PM(ET) /8:15PM(PT)
The topics in Japanese economy that the news won’t cover are explored by Ryu Murakami, Eiko Koike and a variety of entrepreneurs. This is a talk show for mature audiences hosted by a novelist Ryu Murakami and an actress Eiko Koike. The personal stories and life philosophies told by these great entrepreneurs themselves are sure to give a new insight to life.

©NHK
Miraculous Landscapes from Season 3
11/ 23 (Mon) 1:00PM(ET) /10:00AM(PT)
Special edition of NHK Special "Life Force" focusing on biodiversity hotspots--a small number of places that account for just 3% of all the land on Earth where 75% of the mammals, birds, and amphibians that currently face extinction are found. Enjoy especially magnificent sights of three spots, central part of Africa, Costa Rica, and Borneo which this special edition selected and excerpted out of previously aired series.

©NHK
Takashi Maruyama
11/ 23 (Mon) 11:15PM(ET) /8:15PM(PT)

11/ 26 (Thu) 4:00PM(ET) /1:00PM(PT)

Hobby

©NHK
a particular sweet and its recipe will be introduced along with various topics about the sweet.

Life Style

©NHK
Eye trouble
11/ 16 (Mon) 12:05AM(ET) /9:05PM(PT)
Offering tips on how to take most appropriate option when one becomes ill by referring examples.

Sports

11/ 1 (Sun) 3:00PM(ET) /12:00PM(PT)

11/7 Sat.2:00AM(ET) /11:00PM(PT) Start

11/8 Sun.4:35PM(ET) /1:35PM(PT) Start

11/ 27 (Fri) 2:50AM(ET) /11:50PM(PT)

PAGE TOP